School Elections: Stepping into Leadership

May 24, 2022


Junior Class President candidates Evyn Jones (10) and Nico Jenkins (10) standing in front of a mural after presenting speeches to the class of 2024. (Photo provided by Hannah Bruner)

Fair Grove High School is kicking off preparations for the 2022-2023 school year. Club elections, cheerleading tryouts and Class president elections recently took place. 

Student Council recently accepted applications for next year. Out of the 37 members, 8 of them who applied will be accepted into cabinet positions such as Student Body President, Student Body Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Social Chair. Speeches for applicants will be held on May 6th in front of 2022-2023 Student Council. 

Cooper Zumwalt, an incoming senior, said, “I will be running for Student Body President. The student body president will oversee the student body as a whole and lead in organization in any and all events.” Zumwalt has prepared a speech, and put in the work throughout his years in StuCo. 


Student Council Cabinet:

Student Body President: RayAnn Hupman

Student Body Vice-President: Taylor Rode

Secretary: Stephanie Dunham

Social Chair: Hannah Bruner

Treasurer: Lauren Thomlinson


Keith Nolan will be entering high school as freshman class president. He prepared for the election by self-reflecting and identifying his strengths. Nolan commented, “I try to approach it very carefully to make sure I don’t sound boastful about myself.” 


Freshman Class President: Keith Nolan

Sophomore Class President: Atticus Brandes

Junior Class President: Evyn Jones

Senior Class President: Kris Hunter


FCCLA accepted a new Vice-President Ayden Teaster, incoming junior. Teacher chose to run for Vice-President because he loves the organization and everything FCCLA stands for. Teaster added, “It is a very active club that does a lot of community projects and teaches students about leadership at an early age.” 

Speech and Theatre recently held a showcase, where they announced their cabinet for the 2022-2023 school year. Nico Jenkins, incoming sophomore, revealed how the cabinet was decided. They shared, “This year, the Speech and Theatre cabinet was decided by Mrs. Holland, the seniors, and a few other adults involved in the program.” 

Nico re-applied to be Speech Vice-president. Nico said this year they focused on fulfilling their duties to the best of their abilities in hopes of proving to be a contempt leader. 


Speech Cabinet: 

President: Cooper Zumwalt

Vice-President: Nico Jenkins

Secretary: Luke Engel


Theater Cabinet: 

President: Natalie Nolan

Secretary: Madi Ellis

Speech and Theater: 

Social Chairs: Addison Zittle, Karlee Marion-Swan

Publicity Managers: Kris Hunter, Stephanie Dunham

Booster Liaison: Kaitlyn Holdt


Cheer held tryouts in late April for next school year. Cheerleaders were required to learn 2 cheers, a dance and a chant, they would do that and two jumps in try-outs. 


Cheer team: 

Incoming seniors: RayAnn Hupman, Carissa Thompson, Kadence Cooper, Paisley Helmer

Incoming juniors: Jeri McDougal, Piper Logan, Kayln Koller, Grace Trehal, Hannah Bruner

Incoming sophomores: Nevaeh Lahey, Reese Wells, Oliva Phelps, Brooklyn Mauldin

Incoming freshman: Eden Lair, Lizzy Taylor, Desiree Labaw


PROUD is the newest addition to Fair Grove High School’s extracurriculars and clubs. Proud stands for ‘People Reaching Out and Understanding Differences’. They recently held elections for the first ever cabinet. 


PROUD cabinet: 

President: Nico Jenkins

Vice-President: Ivy Wehymyer

Secretary: Addison Zittle

Treasury: Natalie Nolan

Publicity: JJ Lambert


Seth Hardison, incoming junior and FCCLA president for the 2021-2022 year has been re-elected as president as well as Regional President. Hardison stated, “I would like for our chapter to do more early on in the year, so we can try and get involved in the community. Regionally, I am excited to start a regional project.” 


FCCLA Chapter Cabinet: 

President: Seth Hardison

Vice-President: Ayden Teaster

Secretary: Natalie Nolan

Publicity Chair: Olivia Brumfield

Leave a Comment

Eagle's Eye • Copyright 2024 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All Eagle's Eye Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *